NFL Today on CBS Pregame Notes – Week 17

From CBS Sports –

NEWS, NOTES & QUOTES FROM CBS SPORTS’ “THE NFLTODAY” WITH JAMES BROWN, DAN MARINO, SHANNON SHARPE,  BILL COWHER AND BOOMER ESIASON FOR WEEK 17 ON JANUARY1

►QUICK HITS
(On Pittsburghplaying Ben Roethlisberger)
BILL COWHER: I would not play him because it’s about risk andreward.  Bottom line, I think I can beat Clevelandwith Charlie Batch.  And I know Icannot win a championship without Ben Roethlisberger.  So if he’s healthy enough to start.  Why not backhim up?  Keep an eye on that game in Cincinnati,and how Charlie is playing.  He played well last week.  If they have to playnext week, why risk him going out there and re-injuring that ankle.  I wouldnot take that risk.
(On Cincinnatiagainst Baltimore)
BOOMER ESIASON:  I love the Bengals to come of age today.
(On Denver)
COWHER: The most pressure on any quarterback today is on TimTebow.  And I think he goes down to the KansasCity Chiefs.
(On Playoff scenario)
DAN MARINO: I think Baltimore’s going to be the fifth seed.  Baltimore has not been a good road team allyear.  And A.J. Green is coming backfor Cincinnati, that means Pittsburgh’s got to beat Cleveland,which I think will happen.  They will be the No. 2 seed, and Cincinnati gets in the playoffs today.
CHALKTALK
(On New England’s Tom Brady)
BOOMER: After last year’s Jets playoff loss, he said, ‘I’ll never getover that.’  I believe that’s fueling him this year.  The most competitiveplayer in the NFL, Tom Brady, willtake his team to the Super Bowl.
(On Indianapolis’sPeyton Manning)
COWHER: If he’s not willing to restructure a $28million bonus that is due on March 8th, he will not be in Indianapolisnext year. 
(On Cowboys-Giants)
SHANNON SHARPE:  I like the Giants because these guys(Boomer and Marino) tell me all the time, it’s all about the quarterback.  Iplayed with a pretty good one in Denver.  Winnertakes all – I’m going with the better quarterback.  I want Eli Manning
(On Denver’s Tim Tebow)
SHARPE: This is thebiggest game of Tim Tebow‘scareer.  Everybody talks about the fourth quarter comebacks – all of that willbe forgotten.  You lose this game today, in your building, it doesn’t matter ifyou had five, seven, eight, 10 fourth-quarter comebacks, it’s all for naught. But I do believe that the Broncos will win a close ballgame, say 13‑10. 
BOOMER:  Well, all I know is I like John Elway.  I always say great thingsabout John.  But this was a major screw‑up of mammoth proportions if Kyle Orton comes in here and beats them. You never release a player during the season.  You heard Charley say it insegment two with J.B., that can come back and haunt you somewhere along theline.  You have to control that.  I don’t care what the owner says, you just can’trelease the player.
►“INSIDETHE NFL” WITH CHARLEY CASSERLY
ON COACHES ON HOT SEAT
Clickto view: http://bit.ly/rBCMHb
CASSERLY: Let’s start with Philadelphiaand Andy Reid.  I expect Andy Reidto be back as head coach of the Eagles next year.  As far as defensivecoordinator Juan Castillo, as ofyesterday, no decision had been made.  However it is Andy Reid’s totaldecision.  Now to the New York Giants and Tom Coughlin.  He will be back next year as head coach,entering the last year of his contract.  A decision has not been made on anextension.  Here’s Jim Caldwell, Indianapolis Colts.  There is strong sentiment in thebuilding to bring him back because of how hard the Colts have played thisyear.  Next up in San Diego, Norv Turner.  I do not expect him to beback as head coach.  However, I look for him to get many opportunities as anoffensive coordinator in the league.  Finally,
in St. Louis,expect changes to be made there and SteveSpagnuolo to be out as head coach.  However, he’ll be a highlysought after defensive coordinator next year in the NFL. 
ON ADRIAN PETERSON’S RECOVERY
Click to view: http://bit.ly/sQswMh

 

Leave a Reply

