Neuheisel calls for changes in college football polls

From CBS Sports Network –

NEWS ANDNOTES FROM INSIDE COLLEGE FOOTBALL ON
CBS SPORTS NETWORK FEATURING GUEST ANALYST RICK NEUHEISEL
CBS SportsNetwork’s weekly studio show INSIDECOLLEGE FOOTBALL featured guest analyst  Rick Neuheisel, who joined host Adam Zucker, along with AaronTaylor, Randy Cross andBrian Jones. The Former UCLA coach weighed in on the Bruins’new coach, Jim Mora, Jr., theissues surrounding the coaches poll, aswell as a variety of other topics.
The following are excerpts from INSIDE COLLEGEFOOTBALL:
(ON JIMMORA, JR. BEINGINTRODUCED AT UCLA)
RickNeuheisel: Jim’s got a good football team coming back.I believe in those kids and I know he’ll enjoy those guys. He’ll bea good fit from the standpoint that he’s a defensive guy. That wholeleague now is about offense with Rich Rodat Arizona,Mike Leach at Washington State, all the other offensesthat are already prettywellentrenched. He’s going to have to get his hands wet early to make surethat he can stop those guys.
To watch the wholesegment, click this link: http://bit.ly/rtzm0A.
(ON USING COACHES POLL TO DETERMINENATIONAL CHAMPION)
RickNeuheisel: We are in a world in college football thatarbitrarily decides its national champion. Someway, somehow we come up with aone and a two, and we just say these guys are going to play for a nationalchampionship. Factoring in the choice of those two teams are these polls. Oneof the polls is voted on by my former colleagues. I hate the word former, coaches. As a formervoter in this, and I understand why coaches want to keep their hands on it, Iunderstand why coaches want to have some voice in this, because it’s ourlivelihoods at stake. But the bottom line is there is no chance for a coach inmy former position to see all the teams across the country. I have no way towatch teams in the East, I have no way to watch teams in the mid-Americasection. There is not a chance for me to evaluate them as compared to teamsthat are in my conference. So what I would say, and my audible would be, thatthe voting should only be on teams in my conference. I see all kinds ofvideotape on them, whether I play them or not because they’re playingagainst teams that I’m going to play. And I have a great idea as to whoare the best teams in the Pac 12. I have no idea who the best teams were in theSEC. I have no idea inthe Big Ten or across the country. So somehow, someway we have to re-analyzehow that’s done and make sure that coaches are only voting on teams thatthey actually have some knowledge of.

To watch the wholesegment, click this link: http://bit.ly/vQS2PH.

Leave a Reply

