NFL Today on CBS Pregame Notes – Week 13

From CBS Sports –

NEWS, NOTES & QUOTES FROM CBS SPORTS’“THE NFL TODAY” WITH JAMES BROWN, DAN MARINO, SHANNON SHARPE, BILL COWHER AND BOOMER ESIASON FOR WEEK 13 ON DECEMBER 4

►Indianapolis injuredquarterback Peyton Manning appeared exclusively on “THE NFL TODAY”live via two-way to talk about his rehab; Colts’ disappointing season;possibility of them drafting Andrew Luck; and life after football

Clickto view: http://bit.ly/vTZhYi

(On talking with GM Bill Polian about drafting a quarterback,specifically Andrew Luck)
MANNING: I think people misinterpreted Bill’scomments on his radio show.  Bill said he had a conversation with me aboutdrafting a quarterback.  That was about two years ago.   Bill keeps a lot ofplayers informed about what he wants to do with certain things.  He’s in chargeof personnel, always has been.  He’s the guy.  But I think he told me two yearsago at some point we’ll try to get your replacement.  So it was never about aspecific player.  I’ve had zero discussions with Bill about the 2012 NFLDraft.  I think that would be inappropriate to even think that I would duringthe 2011 season when all I’m thinking about is trying to get healthy, trying todo whatever I can to help our team win a football game.  So I think peoplemisinterpreted the comments, and it’s just not an accurate report.  That’s thetruth on that.

(On life after football)
JAMES BROWN:  Peyton, one other thing.  You’repretty good.  You handle the questions well, so you will fit nicely in thechair up here on THE NFL TODAY when it’s over with, buddy.

MANNNING: Well, I tell you, JB, when Marino goes totake over and run the Dolphins next year, maybe I’ll just slide right in andsit next to Coach Cowher.  That will be a good seat there.  I certainly want tokeep playing football, believe me.  Everybody is already asking me if I’m goingto coach, if I’m going to retire.  I tell you, if I’m going to coach, CoachCowher, I’m 0‑11 as an assistant coach this year.  I don’t think anybodywants to hire me.  I can assure you that as a coach.  I still want to play.

DAN MARINO:  We’ve known each other a long time. Are you trying to get me fired up here?  What’s going on, man.

MANNING: Well, if the Dolphins were smart, they should hireyou.  You’re the man there.

(On surprise that team is winless)
MANNING: I think it’s surprising everyone, and Ihate it.  I hate everything about it.  It is not fun in any way…  We haveguys fighting for jobs, players that are getting replaced, trying to make theteam, trying to get a starting job.  It’s a serious time for our team rightnow.  It’s not fun…I don’t think anybody expected it.  It’s somethingthat we’re dealing with, and we’re going to keep fighting here this lastmonth. 

►“INSIDETHE NFL” WITH CHARLEY CASSERLY

CASSERLY ON TEAMS MOVINGTO LOS ANGELES
Clickto view: http://bit.ly/uOBEYS

CASSERLY ONSPECULATION SURROUNDING STATUS OF SAN  DIEGO’S NORV TURNER
Clickto view: http://bit.ly/rJklLz

CASSERLY ON RAIDERS’ ROLANDOMcCLAIN’s INVOLVEMENT IN SHOOTING INCIDENT
Click to view: http://bit.ly/tqv7kX

CASSERLY ON DONOVAN McNABB
Click to view: http://bit.ly/v3iy2N

►QUICK HITS

(On suspension of Ndamukong Suh)
COWHER: I’ll say two games is plenty.  I thinkit’s a great lesson.  He’s hurting his team.  They’ve got to play the NewOrleans Saints without him.  It’s a selfish act and I think it was dealt withappropriately.

SHARPE:  I agree with you, coach, I think twogames is plenty.  The only problem I have is the appeals process.  The act isso egregious you’re saying by appealing, ‘I don’t agree with thesuspension or I didn’t do anything wrong.’  Which in both cases, you’rewrong.  Go ahead and accept the suspension.  I understand the NFLPA wants youto appeal these fines.  But come on, with an act like this, just sit it down,say I’m sorry, apologize and move on.

(On New York Giants)
COWHER: Even ifthey lose today, I still say the New York Giants win the NFC East.

►BILL COWHER TALKS WITH FORMER PLAYERS JETS’ PLAXICO BURRESS AND SANTONIO HOLMES

THE NFL TODAY’s Bill Cowher previewed the New YorkJets-Washington Redskins Week 13 game by sitting down with two of his formerPittsburgh Steelers stars, Jets wide receivers Plaxico Burress and SantonioHolmes.  Charlie Bloom isthe producer.

Click to view: http://bit.ly/rUKoc8

►REACTION TO BURRESS AND HOLMES

SHARPE:  Let’s not kid ourselves.  Thisis an average football team.  They don’t run it like the Texans.  They don’t throw it like the Pack or the Patriots.  They don’t play defense like the Ravens orthe 49ers.  And, unless Rex Ryanis making an outlandish statement, we’re not even paying attention to thisballclub.  You can talk about Mark Sanchezwinning all those road playoff games, but this is an average football team.

BOOMER: Santonio said he wants his quarterback tomanage the game.  I think that’s indicative of where they think Mark Sanchez’s game is.  I love what Plaxico Burris said about Mark Sanchez.  But managing the game nowthat you’ve won four road playoff games, you’ve got to be better than that. He, Matthew Stafford, Ryan, Romo- they’ve all got to start winning games like this.

Leave a Reply

